We all have been there – pulled over for speeding, feeling embarrassed as the police officer approaches you. It happens to the best of us. Whether this is your first ticket or tenth, you may want to know how many points will a speeding ticket deduct from my Missouri driver’s license?
Like any state, Missouri has a point system process used to deduct from your license and too many points could eventually lead to license suspension or revocation. The point system can get confusing, so here is what you need to know.
Missouri Driver License Point System
You may be wondering, “How many points will a speeding ticket deduct from my Missouri driver’s license”, “How long do points stay on my license?” or “How many points until my license is suspended?” Here’s how it works…
Points are added to your record by the Department of Revenue when they receive notice that you were convicted of a traffic violation. The amount of points put on your license depends on what type of moving violation you were convicted of.
In the state of Missouri, a conviction for speeding in violation of state law will result in 3 points being added to your license. A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident in violation of state law will result in 12 points being added to as well as the immediate suspension of your driver’s license.
Here is a better look at point deductions based on the traffic violation:
|• Speeding||3 points|
|• Careless & Imprudent Driving||4 points|
|• Knowingly Allowing an Unlicensed Driver to Drive||4 points|
|• A Felony Involving a Motor Vehicle||12 points|
|• Obtaining a Driver License by Misrepresentation||12 points|
|• Operating a Vehicle While Suspended or Revoked||12 points|
How long does it stay on My License?
This is a great question. Points from your driver’s license are normally removed after 36 months with no other violations and are no longer counted towards suspension of your license (this period starts at the date of your conviction).
Many people don’t know that even though the points are removed from your record after 36 months, the traffic ticket may stay on your record for years.
If your license was suspended or revoked, the speeding ticket or violation will be on your driving record for life.
License Suspension & Revocation
Not only can the Department of Revenue of Missouri add points from your license, but they have the ability to suspend or revoke it if necessary. This completely eliminates your driving privileges and has a lasting impact on your driving record. Suspension and revocation of a license may occur due to…
- Conviction/guilty plea of the offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI)
- Conviction/guilty plea for felony offenses involving motor vehicles
- Accumulating points for criminal driving offenses
- Administrative order following a probable cause hearing by the Missouri Department of Revenue
A driver’s license could be suspended for many different amounts of time, but normally suspension periods are around thirty to ninety days. If the license is revoked, this typically lasts for one year, or in some cases longer.
Avoiding Assessment of Points
Our criminal lawyers and criminal attorneys at Brydon, Swearengen & England, P.C. have represented hundreds of clients for driving-related offenses in successfully avoiding the assessment of points. There is a danger in accumulating too many points on your driver’s license, leading to possible suspension or a revoked driver’s license.
While a person might be eligible for a limited driving privilege or driver’s license reinstatement in certain circumstances, a person’s driver record may render the person ineligible.
Talk to us today to receive legal advice and support from our attorneys at Brydon, Swearengen & England P.C.