Alcohol Beveral Law Liquor Licensing

How Many Points Will a Moving Violation Assess To My Missouri Driver’s License?

Woman wondering about points for moving violation

Maybe you got caught speeding recently and you are worried about the consequences and how it will affect your driving record. Or perhaps you drove without a license or with a suspended license. Many drivers have been in your situation, and it’s essential to understand what’s next. At Brydon, Swearengen & England P.C., we want to inform you further on the point system of Missouri and how it all works.

What is a Moving Violation in Missouri?

A moving violation is like it sounds – breaking a traffic law while the vehicle is moving. Examples of a moving violation could be driving while intoxicated, running a red light, or speeding. Here are some other examples of moving violations in Missouri:

  • Careless Driving
  • Failure to Maintain A Single Lane
  • Not Carrying Adequate Insurance
  • Driving with an Expired, Suspended, or Revoked Driver’s License
  • Failure to Yield Right-of-Way
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident
  • Hit and Run Accidents
  • Outstanding Warrants for Unpaid Traffic Tickets
  • Driving Without a License

How Many Points Will A Moving Violation Assess To My Missouri Driver’s License?

In Missouri, the average number of points assessed to your license due to a moving violation according to State speeding laws is 3 points. Other point deductions include:

  • Careless & Imprudent Driving – 2-4 points
  • Knowingly Allowing an Unlicensed Driver to Drive – 4 points
  • A Felony Involving a Motor Vehicle – 12 points
  • Obtaining a Driver License by Misrepresentation – 12 points 
  • Operating a Vehicle While Suspended or Revoked – 12 points

Traffic fines will vary in Missouri by the court. It’s important to pay your traffic fine on time to avoid additional fees. Your traffic ticket will tell you exactly how much you owe, deadlines, and more about penalties. 

How Does the Point System Work?

The Point System in Missouri determines when a license is suspended or revoked. Points are added to your driving record when the Department of Revenue is notified of a moving violation.

When it comes to how many points a moving violation assesses to your Missouri driver’s license – it solely depends on what kind of moving violation you received. For example, you could have 3 points added if you were speeding in violation of state law or 12 points if operating a vehicle while suspended or revoked.

A significant point violation is received if convicted of leaving the scene of an accident in violation of state law. In this case, you could have 12 points added to your record, as well as the immediate suspension of your license.

How Many Points Will Make You Lose Your License in MO?

If you receive a total of 4 points in 12 months, the Missouri Department of Revenue (MODOR) will send you an advisory warning. If you receive 8 or more points in 18 months, MODOR suspends your driving privileges. 

If you get 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months, or 24 or more points in 36 months, the Dept. of Revenue will revoke your driving privilege for one year. If you continue to rack up points, you risk losing your license for many years at a time.

Getting An Attorney

What are the benefits of an attorney when receiving a moving violation, and do you need one? If you want to fight a traffic ticket, hiring an attorney can help you avoid license suspension, reduce or avoid receiving points on your license, or avoid higher insurance premiums! An attorney will represent you in court, negotiate your charges, and handle all paperwork.

Our experienced attorneys handle a broad spectrum of legal needs for both corporations and individuals. Whatever your legal need, contact us today.

SCG-Legal-logo
chamber